Cranberry Educational Foundation to award three scholarships for next school year

Applicants must be from cranberry growing towns
The Cranberry Educational Foundation is awarding three scholarships for students already in college.

The Cranberry Educational Foundation (CEF) announced earlier this month that they will be awarding three scholarships, each in the amount of $1,000. To qualify for the scholarship, applicants must be currently enrolled at an institution of higher learning, must have completed their first semester and must maintain a GPA of 2.5.

The scholarships are not limited to any particular field of study, but students majoring in agriculture, the environment or natural resources will be given priority, according to a release from CEF.

Applicants must also be from one of the following cranberry growing towns: Acushnet, Attleboro, Barnstable, Berkley, Bourne, Brewster, Bridgewater, Carver, Chatham, Dartmouth, Dennis, Duxbury, E. Bridgewater, Easton, Falmouth, Foxboro, Freetown, Halifax, Hanover, Hanson, Harwich, Kingston, Lakeville, Marion, Marshfield, Mashpee, Mattapoisett, Middleboro, Nantucket, New Bedford, New Braintree, Norfolk, Norton, Norwell, Orleans, Pembroke, Plymouth, Plympton, Raynham, Rehoboth, Rochester, Sandwich, Scituate, Sharon, Swansea, Taunton, Wareham, Wrentham or Yarmouth.

Applications are due by Friday, May 31, 2013 and must include a completed application form, two letters of recommendation (from anyone other than family members) and a 250-word essay about why you have chosen to pursue your field of study/career goals. Applications and complete instructions are available online here.

Recipients will be announced at the end of July.  Scholarships will be awarded at the Cape Cod Cranberry Growers Association summer meeting in August. welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on