Lower Cape TV Takes Home Two Top Honors

Live Production, Music, win Creator Awards
Award-winning Lower Cape TV staffers are all smiles as they show their Massachusetts Creator Awards last week. (See story for full caption)

EASTHAM, MA – Last week Lower Cape TV won top honors in the Live Production and Music categories of the MassAccess Creator Awards. In addition, the studio’s productions were finalists in eight of the 15 categories.

Judges cited strong multi-camera work and overall production as factors in selecting the Brewster Whitecaps-Chatham Anglers baseball game of August 10 2018 (https://vimeo.com/284722964) as winner in the Live Production category. Rafal Kowalczyk directed. Crew included sideline reporter Katharine Huntley, community members Mike Caliri, James Bucar, and Ted Omo, and interns Annie Fitzgerald (South Salem, NY ), Emma Griffin (Wellfleet, MA) and Chris Lynch (Bridgewater, MA).

The winner in the Music category, Lower Later (http://www.lowerlater.com), hosted by Jennifer Hope of Wellfleet, combines talk and music as it focuses on the Cape Cod music scene. The winning episode #06 featured music guest Jimmy Connor and was directed by Darren Wotherspoon, hosted and scripted by Jennifer Hope, and technical directed by Rafal Kowalczyk. Dennis Witnauer handled sound production with additional camera work by Mike Caliri and Katherine Huntley.

Lower Cape Community Access TV (lowercapetv.org) is a 501(c)3 organization that runs TV stations Channel 99 and Channel 22 for Brewster, Eastham, Orleans, Wellfleet and Truro. It supports local voice and provides open  access to video equipment and training to all. It serves as a nonprofit hub for connection, creativity, and community and also makes its content available via a free mobile app to connect people to the Cape from wherever they happen to be.

The Massachusetts Creator Awards (massaccess.org) recognizes outstanding work in television and media within the state of Massachusetts. Awards are judged by third party evaluators who are top media professionals in the field. All entries are judged based on strict criteria in order to ensure the most outstanding productions are recognized and honored.

Full photo caption: (L to R) Susan Bloom,events & outreach, Rafal Kowalczyk director of production (holding Live Production award), Teresa Martin, executive director, Darren Wotherspoon, brand & design (holding Music award), and Janice Cote donor engagement. (LCTV photo)

CapeCodToday.com welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on CapeCodToday.com.