Rockland Trust Awards $25,000 in Scholarships to Local Students

Cape, Islands, Plymouth students among winners...
Rockland Trust scholarship recipients (See story for full caption)

Hanover, Mass. – Rockland Trust has announced the recipients of its 2019 Rockland Trust Scholarship Program. The winners were assessed on their combined excellence in academics, extracurricular activities, community involvement, and an essay on the importance of community service, and were selected from a pool of more than 700 applicants.

An awards ceremony was held at Rockland Trust headquarters in Hanover, MA, where CEO Christopher Oddleifson and COO Robert Cozzone congratulated the students and their families alongside Branch and District Managers from the respective winning towns. The scholarship was open to high school seniors entering their freshman year of college in the fall residing in the communities served by Rockland Trust.

“The Scholarship Program is an important component of Rockland Trust’s ongoing commitment to strengthening our communities,” said Oddleifson. “These incredible young students are well-deserving of the scholarships and we wish them all the best as they continue their academic careers.”

“This year’s scholars have greatly impressed us with their educational backgrounds as well as their understanding of the importance in giving back to the community,” said Cozzone. “Rockland Trust is proud to play a role in helping these individuals pursue future success.”

This year’s winners include:

  • Aiden Campbell, Plymouth North High School. Aiden will be attending Villanova University this fall.       
  • Cameron Gottlieb, Nantucket High School - Elon University           
  • Carly Fisher, Cardinal Spellman High School - Boston College           
  • Cindy Tsang, Braintree High School - Barnard College     
  • Evan Abramson, Sandwich High School - Duke University
  • Matthew Crepeau, Hopedale Junior-Senior High School - Bentley University     
  • Nora Martyny, Woburn Memorial High School - Northeastern University      
  • Rachel Perry, Old Rochester Regional High School - Cornell University      
  • Zachary Matthews, Catholic Memorial School - University of New Hampshire

Full photo caption:

Front L-R: Evan Abramson; Matthew Crepeau; Aiden Campbell; Zachary Matthews

Back L-R: Christopher Oddleifson, Rockland Trust CEO; Nora Martyny; Carly Fisher; Cindy Tsang; Robert Cozzone, Rockland Trust COO welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on