Monomoy Regional High School Holds Annual Breakfast of Excellence

Honoring perfect MCAS scores, National Merit Scholars and more...
Monomoy High School recognizes its high achievers at the annual Breakfast of Excellence. (MRSD photo)

From the Monomoy Regional School District:

On Wednesday, November 20, 2019, Monomoy Regional High School held its 6th Annual Breakfast of Excellence, honoring students for a variety of academic achievements, including those who earned perfect MCAS scores, National Merit Scholars, John and Abigail Adams Scholarship recipients, and AP Scholar award winners.

Monomoy is proud to have three students who earned a perfect score on the MCAS exam during the 2018-2019 school year. These students are: Trey Cox, ELA; Aliza Pillsbury, ELA; and Colby Jones, Math.

To be named a National Merit Commended Scholar, students’ junior year PSAT scores are compared with other students in their state. The Monomoy students who rank within the top 3% to 4% for students in the state of Massachusetts and have been commended as National Merit Scholars are Sage Barnes and Shannen Holbrook. 

The John and Abigail Adams Scholarship is a merit-based program that provides a credit toward tuition for up to eight semesters of undergraduate education at a Massachusetts state college or university. For this scholarship, merit is based on student scores on the 10th grade Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) test. The Monomoy Regional High School Adams Scholarship Award winners are: Jack Archibald; Sage Barnes; Alison Barrett; Jenna Beebe; Sarah Blake; Milagra Bologna; Jaymie Buffington; Rory Carpenter; Samuel Chase; Kenneth Cohrs; Noah Concordia; Joseph Cottle; Margrette Dery; Kyle Gabri; Kaitlyn Germann; Cassidy Goodwin; Jared Gula; Olivia Hart; Shannen Holbrook; Caraline LaBelle; Kaitlyn Lyons; Ross Martin; Zachary Parker; Alexandra Payne; Joshua Poitras; Lillian Ryan; Ashlee Shuemaker; Annabelle Sims; Julie Slade; George Spalt; Daniel Street; Matthew Velasquez; Brandon Willis; Steven Young; and Jason Zaloom.

There are various levels of AP Scholar designation, depending on the number of AP courses taken and the scores earned: AP Scholar - Granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams; AP Scholar with Honor - Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams; AP Scholar with Distinction - Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams; and National AP Scholar - Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

The students receiving AP Scholar recognition include: Jack Archibald; Sage Barnes; Sarah Blake; Jaymie Buffington; Kenneth Cohrs; Ashley Hunt; Caraline LaBelle; Lillian Ryan; and Julie Slade.

The Monomoy students named AP Scholars with Honor are Milagra Bologna and Shannen Holbrook.

Monomoy alumni from the Class of 2019 were also recognized at the Breakfast of Excellence. AP National Scholar: Perry Comeau. AP Scholars with Distinction: Danny Arregoces; James Kiernan; Caroline Davock; James Kiernan; Samantha Mahoney; Patrick McGill; Taylor Morris; Alan Papenfuhs; and Isaiah Stafford. AP Scholars with Honor: Cameron Archibald; Samantha Barr; Sean Stone; and Ulrich. AP Scholars: Christopher Hall; Abigail Higgins; Hannah Marty; Molly McKenna; Hannah Mitchell; Hunter Murphy; Ryan Neiser; Lucy Ryan; Lindsay Smith; Erin Starkey; and Mary Wall.

The names of the students earning perfect MCAS scores and of the AP Scholars have been added to the plaques displayed in the MRHS lobby.

Congratulations to these students for their hard work and achievement! welcomes thoughtful comments and the varied opinions of our readers. We are in no way obligated to post or allow comments that our moderators deem inappropriate. We reserve the right to delete comments we perceive as profane, vulgar, threatening, offensive, racially-biased, homophobic, slanderous, hateful or just plain rude. Commenters may not attack or insult other commenters, readers or writers. Commenters who persist in posting inappropriate comments will be banned from commenting on